Hinduism Scientific Fact

Posted on

Why do the priests keep a Shikha or Choti on the head?

Whenever we go to a temple, we find Brahmin priests with a tuft of hair tied up neatly at the back of their head, originating from the top of the head. They keep it very nicely and always knotted. This tuft of hair is called shikha.

This shikha, as per Vedic scriptures, is a symbol of Brahminical qualities and culture which has been imparted to a person undergoing a strict training under the guidance of a bonafide spiritual master who is well qualified in all Vedic scriptures and well placed in the science thorough realisation of the absolute truth.

Science behind keeping

  • Shikha, as per the Vedic shastras originates from the brahmrandhra or the topmost point of the head near the occipital lobe of the cerebrum. This point is the centre of all neural activities and is considered to be the energy bearing point of all the bodily functions.
  • Tightening the hair knot right above the suture induces marvelous psychological benefits. It helps in harmonious blood circulation in the brain in normal conditions and augments alertness.
  • As described in the yoga-scriptures, it also lends support in increasing mental concentration and meditation. In terms of its sublime spiritual effects, the shikha works like an antenna in the outer domain of the sahasrara chakra (topmost extrasensory centre) to link the individual consciousness with the cosmic consciousness.
  • As per the Vedic injunctions, the shikha helps the supreme personality of godhead to pull us from the material world to the spiritual world.

Astrology and Gem Therapy

Posted on

Gems are a source of abundant energy. Besides being an article of beauty, nature has bestowed them with extra ordinary powers of healing and changing your aura. From time immemorial sages have identified unique benefits of various stones and herbs after thorough research. In Vedic astrology yagna, herbs and minerals are integral part of helping people in improving their fortune and wandering off the evil influences.

Our body is a part of cosmic Universe. Various forms of energy influence our body. Excess or deficiency of various forms of energy results into adverse effects on our life. According to Ayurveda, the ancient science of healing from Vedic civilization, our body comprises of three elements- Vak (Air), Pitta (bile) and Kapha (cough).  For a healthy life these elements should have an optimal balance. Any disturbance among them causes us different type of ailments.

Each gem represents a different colour of rainbow; some are even combination of few colours. Wearing recommended gems helps us to attract concentrated energy from universe, which affects our various chakras. However the gem selection is a very scientific subject, it can be done only after studying the horoscope and transit of planets at a given time. Many people have a habit of multiple gems or stones, which may be harmful.

It is akin to over reacting or diverting energy in multiple directions. In subsequent posts we will apprise our readers with qualities of various gems, suitability of gems according to horoscope and transit and stones for different problems for the people, viz a viz health, prosperity, success, financial gains etc.

In the form of Gems nature has given us unique gift; a proper selection of Gems can change our life for better. Om Tatsave Namah!

Straight from the Love ‘Gurus’!

Posted on


Like every year, today, on the fourteenth day of the 2nd month of the year is being celebrated by world as the Valentine’s Day; a day to express their love, affection and friendship.

Since  the month of February is the  2 month  in the year cycle , Number 2 is ruled by the planet Moon, symbolizes our Emotions , Relationships, Thought process , Cooperation, and Communication – it’s a perfect choice to celebrate love.

Like on most vital things in life, romance and love life too account for a major share of our existence. Vedic Sciences too have a take on this. There is something called the “Maithri charka” that describes 8 types of people by way of 8 animals based on which one can know whether a person will really live up to be a ‘mithra’, a friend or a bitter enemy or a neutral one with whom you may not have problems. This charka has application in friendship matters, in business partnership and of course in love and marriage relationship.


The 8 animals are paired as representing the opposite arms of the Maithri charka, indicating bitter enmity.


For example- Garuda x snake Cat x rat Lion x elephant Dog x Rabbit

The 8 animals are placed from east through 8 directions.


To know if one will be friendly with you, you have to first know which animal represents your name. Then know the animal represented by your friend’s name. If the two animals are in opposites, you can expect troubles in relationship. If they are same, there will be good matching of minds. If they are natural friends, there will be friendship.


This is how the calculation is done:-


  • If the remainder is 1 – garuda (E)
  • If it is 2, cat (SE)
  • If it is 3, lion (S)
  • If it is 4, dog (SW)
  • If it is 5, snake (W)
  • If it is 6, rat (NW)
  • If it is 7, elephant (N)
  • If it is 0, rabbit (NE)


Nowadays, the practice is to count the letters in English and other languages too. Here the method is to count the number of letters, multiply it with 10 and divide the outcome by 8.




  1. If Bobby and  Eshha  want to be business partners, count their name numbers.


       Bobby   =5 x 10 = 50 / 8 = 6 (R- 2) – Cat


       Eshha   = 5 x10 = 50 /8 = 6 (R-2) – Cat


Relationship between Cat & Cat will be friendlier as per Maithri charka.


  1. If Sunnil & Kunal want to be business partners, count their name numbers.


Sunnil = 6 x 10 = 60 / 8 = 7 (R-4 )- Dog


Kunal = 5 x 10 = 50 / 8 = 6 (R- 2) – Cat

Relationship between Dog & Cat will be neutral.


In this way the compatibility and friendship can be known from the relationship between the 8 animals. Same number persons will have good understanding. Opposite numbers do not make them see eye to eye. Other numbers are acceptable, but the way they relate to each other is determined by the nature of relationship between the animals representing their names.

Vedic astrology uses the 8 animal – characteristics at other places too – in identifying the city where one can flourish and in identifying the part of the city where one can settle down and lead a peaceful life. We will see them in future posts.

If you think this Maithiri chakra got too much for you to take, we, at, simplifies it all for you. More than this, we assess and provide solutions to your love, friendship, compatibility and other life related questions and problems. Our Pandits use their advanced vidya to also determine problems which yet lie dormant to only wake up somewhere in the future and help you prepare for them. So what are you waiting for, log on to right away, and discover more!