Rediscover yourself this Navratri!  

Posted on Updated on



Every year the beginning of summer and the beginning of winter are two very important junctures of climatic change and solar influence. These two junctions have been chosen as the sacred opportunities to worship the divine powers because of the very fact that the dynamism always calls for simultaneous balance. When a season and the position of the sun changes, the human body and mind also experience the same and the energy has to be channelized thus these pujas!

Hinduism is the only religion in the world which has emphasized to such an extent the motherhood of God. 
Navratras are celebrated to worship different avatars and forms of goddess Durga (Shailaputri, Brahmachari, Chandragha, Kushmana, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri). To please goddess Durga, a 9 day fast period is observed. During Navratri pujan, the Durga Sapsati puja and havan with proper procedures and rituals is conducted where each family member gives aahuti and takes blessings from Durga mata. The Durga puja vidhi and processes need to be properly understood and applied. Therefore, a knowledgeable priest well versed in vedic shastras and process is advised.
 The word Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit; nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Shakti/Devi are worshiped.

The Vedic sciences state that- matter reverts to its original form to recreate itself again and again. The creation is cyclical, not linear; everything is recycled by nature. Rejuvenation is a continuous process. The human mind, however, lags behind.

Undoubtedly Navratri is celebrated to rejoice of the victory of good over evil, the actual fight, however, is not between good and evil. From the Vedantic point of view, the victory is of the absolute reality over the apparent duality.

Navratri is a festival for one to take the mind back to its Source.

It basically is a journey of nine days to the very source of our being. With fasting and constant chanting and prayers one engages in a profound cleansing of the body as well as that of the soul.

The Deities representing Budhi (Intellect), Bhranti (Confusion), Lakshmi (Abundance), Shudha (Hunger), Trishna (Thirst) are worshipped profoundly to achieve utmost peace, serenity and over-come all negativities created by inertia, pride, shame, unreasonable logics, lack of clarity in life and so on. The nine days of Navratri are also an opportunity to rejoice in the three primordial qualities that make up the universe. Though our life is governed by the three gunas, we seldom recognize and reflect on them. The first three days of Navratri are attributed to tamo guna, the next three days to rajo guna and the last three days to sattva guna.

The program of the 9 days is as follows:

–       Day 1 to Day 3:

On the first day of the Navaratras, a small bed of mud is prepared in the puja room and barley seeds are sown on it. These initial days are dedicated to Durga Maa, the Goddess of power and energy.


–       Day 4 to Day 6:

 During these days, Lakshmi Maa, the Goddess of peace and prosperity is worshipped. 


–       Day 7 & Day 8:

These final days belong to Saraswati Maa who is worshipped to acquire the spiritual knowledge. This in turn will free us from all earthly bondage. But on the 8th day of this colorful festival, yagna (holy fire) is performed.  


–       Mahanavami or Ram Navami this 8th of April is the birthday of Lord Rama!


After 8 or 9 days of fasting, Navratra pujan is concluded by Ram Navami puja where we perform kanya puja. Nine young girls representing the nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshiped and they are offered kala chana, halwa and puri with dakshina and red chunari as kanjaks.


Your very own gives you this divine opportunity to replenish all your gunas and cleanse your body and soul. The Vedically enlightened in-house pandits broaden your horizon and help you perform the pujas more effectively. We take care of everything from your puja smagris to the muhurat and all of it. The puja ceremony includes: Devi mata havan, Durga saptshati Paath, Vrat Udayapan puja and Navratra durga pujan arti.

So seek the blessings of all the goddesses of the creation now.


Book at:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s